CHEYENNE, Wyo. (AP) - The University of Wyoming Board of Trustees has selected three finalists for president of the state's only public, four-year university.

The candidates are Jeremy Haefner, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost at the Rochester Institute of Technology in Henrietta, New York; Duane Nellis, President of Texas Tech University in Lubbock, Texas; and Laurie Nichols, Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs at South Dakota State University in Brookings, South Dakota.

Each of the candidates is scheduled to make public appearances on campus, beginning Monday with Nellis. Nichols is set to visit on Wednesday and Haefner on December 14.

The trustees released the names after a closed-door meeting on Friday. Until then, UW had conducted its search for a replacement for outgoing President Dick McGinity in secret.

More From KGAB