Wyoming Department of Education Interim Director Jim Rose announced the 11 recipients of the 21st Century Community Learning Centers (21 CCLC) Cohort Eight grant in Cheyenne Tuesday.

The grant is authorized under Title IV, Part B of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act, as amended by the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001. The program helps students meet state and local standards in core academic subjects, such as reading and math; offers students a broad array of enrichment activities that complement the school day academic programs; and offers literacy and other educational services to the families of participating children.

The awards for Cohort Eight range from $55,673 to $150,500 each year for up to five years contingent upon federal funding. The new sub-grantees will establish or expand community learning centers that provide academic and enrichment opportunities for children, particularly students who attend high-poverty and low-performing schools.

The eleven recipients are:

  • Uinta B.O.C.E.S. #1 Education Center
  • Sweetwater County School District #2
  • Fremont County School District #6
  • Sheridan County School District #2
  • Laramie County Community Partnership
  • Greater Wyoming Big Brothers Big Sisters-Albany County
  • Fremont County School District #1
  • The PRACTICE Afterschool Program, Torrington
  • Natrona County Prevention Coalition
  • Hot Springs County School District #1
  • Fremont County School District #2



More From KGAB