Contact Us
Make My Homepage

Sixteen Wyoming High School Seniors Receive the Horatio Alger State Scholarship

(By: Joe Raedle/Getty)

The Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans announced the winners of the Horatio Alger Wyoming Scholarship this week. These scholarships are made possible with generous support from the Rocky Mountain Power Foundation. These Horatio Alger state scholarship recipients have been chosen based on their demonstrated commitment to education, dedication to community service, and strength of character in overcoming personal obstacles to achieve academic excellence.

Tony Novelly, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Horatio Alger Association said “It is a privilege to play a part in these young people’s college education.”

Each scholar will receive $5,000 that will go toward their college tuition, fees, books, on-campus room and board and other education-related expenses. In addition to the scholarship, the students will receive:

  • Financial aid guidance to assist in the selection of and preparation for college;
  • Access to the association’s website, where students can create online profiles, search for fellow scholars, update their personal information, submit disbursement requests, and direct questions to the association;
  • Access to a toll-free information line to speak with program coordinators for assistance with questions about their scholarships and other educational programs.

The Horatio Alger Association’s scholarship programs are funded by its Members, friends of the organization, and other foundations. Since 1987, the Association has provided $1,048,000 in scholarships to high school seniors from Wyoming. The 2013 Horatio Alger Wyoming Scholarship recipients are:

  • Charles J. Allen, Douglas High School, Douglas;
  • Marcus J. Anderson, Burns High School, Cheyenne;
  • Samantha M. Crawford, Lander Valley High School, Lander;
  • Rebekah R. Davis, Star Valley High School, Afton;
  • Mackenzie L. Kelly, Cheyenne East High School, Cheyenne;
  • Kira Koldewyn, Star Valley High School, Afton;
  • Denim S. Lind, Sheridan High School, Sheridan;
  • Dakota D. McCormack, New Castle High School, Newcastle;
  • Kimberly A. Montalvo, Natrona County High School, Casper;
  • Koryn A. Potts, Rock Springs High School, Rock Springs;
  • Jessica Power, Cody High School, Cody;
  • Rachel A. Purdy, Pine Bluffs High School, Pine Bluffs;
  • Amantha Robertson, Riverside High School, Basin;
  • Brianne M. Siebert, Powell High School, Powell;
  • Miria Smith, Burlington High School, Burlington;
  • Tally Tait T. Wells, Powell High School, Powell.

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for VIP quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive VIP contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.