Ten Wyoming teachers were honored Friday as recipients of the Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Award at a ceremony at South High School in Cheyenne. The recipients included:

  • Stephany Anderson, Cody High School
  • Kathryn Kintz, Sunflower School in Gillette,
  • Meredith McLaughlin, Stella Rios Newell and Cynthia Webb from the University of Wyoming Lab School
  • Robin Levin, Fort Washakie School in Fort Washakie
  • Tammy Beth Needham, Sundance Elementary School in Sundance
  • Tascha Marie Smith, South High School in Cheyenne
  • Jo ann Stevens, Rock Springs Junior High School in Rock Springs
  • Carrie Michelle Varga, Colter Elementary School in Jackson.


Each teacher received a personal, unrestricted cash award of $3,500 from Arch Coal, as well as a trophy and plaque. Nominations of the teachers are made by the public, and selection is made by a blue-ribbon panel of the teachers' peers.